The selected teams will travel to Singapore to be part of the final phase of SEM where they will compete with similar teams from other parts of the world to design, build, test and drive the world’s most energy efficient vehicle.

Team Kaizen is working on an electric battery – urban concept prototype, this year. The prototype is expected to provide a mileage of 97.26 km/kWh and can go up to 250 KMs if the battery is fully charged. The prototype is designed aerodynamically with an optimized chassis to keep the vehicle as light as possible. The motor of the vehicle is a self-designed invertor circuit controlled through STM32F407G micro-controller. Overcoming all the hardships, the team has managed to come a long way and hope to reach Singapore for the SEM 2018 final phase.

Speaking on the competition, Kavin Pandya, Team Manager of Team Kaizen said,” It is a great opportunity and an honour for us to participate in Shell Eco-marathon Asia 2018. The competition encourages innovation among students and provides an ideal platform for infusion of concepts, creativity and groupwork that is essential for the development of that one big idea that can break barriers in our efforts to create a sustainable solution in the areas of clean energy and future mobility.”

Commenting on the entries received this year, Mr. Nitin Prasad, Chairman at Shell Companies in India said, “Make the Future is Shell’s endeavour to find truly sustainable solutions that can resolve the industrial world’s dilemma of decarbonization. It is a humungous task, and at Shell, we believe it is the members of the young world who have an immense capability to usher in the change and chart the way towards a responsible and bright future. India’s participation in Shell Eco-marathon Asia in the last few years has been commendable, and we are delighted to see an overwhelming response from students this year as well. I wish them all the very best for the next phase of the competition. Shell India will extend its support to the teams in the best possible manner.”

In the final of the competition which is running its eighth edition in Singapore between 8 -11 March 2018, universities which have been selected to represent India are K.J. Somaiya College Of Engineering; SRM University, Chennai; RV College of Engineering; VIT University; Delhi Technological University; Sir M Visvesvaraya Institute of Technology; Lovely Professional University; Indian Institute of Technology - Banaras Hindu University; Birla Institute of Technology and Science (BITS); National Institute of Technology Raipur; SRM University Delhi – NCR; Pandit Deendayal Petroleum University.