The selected teams will travel to Singapore to be part of the final phase of SEM where they will compete with similar teams from other parts of the world to design, build, test and drive the world’s most energy efficient vehicle.

Team Averera is designing a prototype under the electric vehicle category and expects to provide a mileage of 350 km/hr. The prototype is a light weight three-wheeled electric vehicle with customized motor controller, whose body has been extensively optimized for reducing drag to increase efficiency. The student team believes that through SEM they have an opportunity to contribute in making mobility more sustainable and environment-friendly. A common notion that prevails among people are that Indian teams do not perform well in SEM. Through hard work, dedication and perseverance, the team is focused in breaking this stereotype and reaching the SEM 2018 final phase to be held in Singapore.

Speaking on the competition, Somesh Jaiswal, Team Manager of Team Averera said, “The looming threat of the fuel crisis and the increasing CO2 emissions worldwide, has dawned upon us the realization of our responsibilities as engineers and a responsible citizen which has motivated us to participate in Shell Eco-marathon Asia 2018. We are working on an e-vehicle prototype this year, considering it is the next big thing in the smart mobility space and will help in addressing the energy challenges, the world is facing today. The competition encourages innovation among students and provides an ideal platform for infusion of concepts, creativity and groupwork that is essential for the development of that one big idea that can break barriers in our efforts to create a sustainable solution in the areas of clean energy and future mobility.”

Commenting on the entries received this year, Mr. Nitin Prasad, Chairman at Shell Companies in India said, Make the Future is Shell’s endeavour to find truly sustainable solutions that can resolve the industrial world’s dilemma of decarbonization. It is a humungous task, and at Shell, we believe it is the members of the young world who have an immense capability to usher in the change and chart the way towards a responsible and bright future. India’s participation in Shell Eco-marathon Asia in the last few years has been commendable, and we are delighted to see an overwhelming response from students this year as well. I wish them all the very best for the next phase of the competition. Shell India will extend its support to the teams in the best possible manner.”

In the final of the competition which is running its eighth edition in Singapore between 8 -11 March 2018, universities which have been selected to represent India are K.J. Somaiya College Of Engineering; SRM University, Chennai; RV College of Engineering; VIT University; Delhi Technological University; Sir M Visvesvaraya Institute of Technology; Lovely Professional University; Indian Institute of Technology - Banaras Hindu University; Birla Institute of Technology and Science (BITS); National Institute of Technology Raipur; SRM University Delhi – NCR; Pandit Deendayal Petroleum University.