The selected teams will travel to Singapore to be part of the final phase of SEM where they will compete with similar teams from other parts of the world to design, build, test and drive the world’s most energy efficient vehicle.

Team Infieon Supermileage is designing a prototype under the gasoline category and expects to provide a mileage of 500 kmpl. The chassis of the prototype is inspired by the seating style used in Formula 1, which provides highest level of safety and comfort to the driver. The student team believes that through SEM they have an opportunity to contribute in making mobility more sustainable and environment-friendly. A common notion that prevails among people are that Indian teams do not perform well in SEM. Through hard work, dedication and perseverance, the team is focused in breaking this stereotype and reaching the SEM 2018 final phase to be held in Singapore.

Speaking on the competition, Shreyas Ravi, Team Manager of Team Infieon Supermileage said,” We believe that with the right knowledge and hard work we can be successful and aim to qualify for the finals. We are here to break the stereotype with our prototype model which has been built upon three objectives - minimum weight, maximum coasting distance and minimum fuel consumption. We are confident that we can develop that disruptive idea which can open up new possibilities in the domain of clean energy and future mobility.”

Commenting on the entries received this year, Mr. Nitin Prasad, Chairman at Shell Companies in India said, “Make the Future is Shell’s endeavour to find truly sustainable solutions that can resolve the industrial world’s dilemma of decarbonization. It is a humungous task, and at Shell, we believe it is the members of the young world who have an immense capability to usher in the change and chart the way towards a responsible and bright future. India’s participation in Shell Eco-marathon Asia in the last few years has been commendable, and we are delighted to see an overwhelming response from students this year as well. I wish them all the very best for the next phase of the competition. Shell India will extend its support to the teams in the best possible manner.”

In the final of the competition which is running its eighth edition in Singapore between 8 -11 March 2018, universities which have been selected to represent India are K.J. Somaiya College Of Engineering; SRM University, Chennai; RV College of Engineering; VIT University; Delhi Technological University; Sir M Visvesvaraya Institute of Technology; Lovely Professional University; Indian Institute of Technology - Banaras Hindu University; Birla Institute of Technology and Science (BITS); National Institute of Technology Raipur; SRM University Delhi – NCR; Pandit Deendayal Petroleum University.